2015 NHC Tour Registration Now Open At NTRA.Com; Prize Money Increased 25 Percent

NTRA Press Release

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Thursday, December 11, 2014) – The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) announced today that the 2015 Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship (NHC) Tour will offer record prize money of $250,000, a 25 percent increase over the 2014 prize money of $200,000. Signups for the 2015 DRF NHC Tour are now being accepted at The complete rules are posted at

The DRF NHC Tour is a yearlong series that, in addition to offering record prize money, will offer 22 or more qualifying berths to the 2016 NHC in Las Vegas. The 2015 Tour officially kicks off Monday, January 26, and continues through December 31. A tentative schedule of 2015 NHC qualifying events will be released in coming weeks.

DRF NHC Tour participation requires an annual NTRA individual membership fee of $50. Membership is mandatory in order to compete for a berth in the 2016 NHC and must be in place prior to participation in any given qualifier tournament in order for top finishers of sanctioned NHC qualifying events to be eligible to compete in the January 2016 NHC – the lucrative culmination of the year’s qualifying schedule. The 16th renewal of the NHC will be held January 23-25 at Treasure Island Las Vegas, where Jose Arias of Bell Gardens, Calif., will defend his title. The 2016 NHC will offer a record purse of well over $2 million.

As was the case in 2014, the top 150 Tour points leaders at the end of the year will be guaranteed entry into the 2016 NHC, where the overall, season-ending NHC Tour points leader will be eligible for a $2 million bonus should he or she capture the 2016 NHC and become the first person to earn a seat to the 2017 NHC.

The NHC Tour prize pool of $250,000 includes a total of $50,000 in mid-year payouts to the top five individuals (who will receive $10,000 each) in the standings as of July 31. End-of-year payouts will total $175,000, with points based on a member’s top six scores (including at least one score from a brick and mortar tournament location). The overall Tour winner will receive $75,000 and a seat to the 2017 NHC, and the top two finishers will each receive a trophy.

The top 20 finishers at the end of the year will each receive prize money and be eligible to compete for a $25,000 bonus to be paid to the individual who achieves the highest overall finish at the 2016 NHC. This individual also will earn a berth in the 2017 NHC. The bonus money is in addition to any other prize money won at the NHC.

In addition to making one eligible to earn a coveted seat to the NHC, other NHC Tour benefits include:

  • Exclusive discount from Daily Racing Form on past performance subscription packages – 15% discount for first-time Tour Members and 10% discount for those renewing;
  • Individual membership in the NTRA, which include benefits and discounts from NTRA Advantage partners and membership in the Horseplayers Coalition that supports NTRA legislative initiatives in Washington, D.C.; and
  • Weekly e-newsletter featuring player profiles, timely tournament information and other event information.

Entering its 17th year, the Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship is the most important tournament of the year for horseplayers. There are no “buy-in” entries at the NHC. It is the culmination of a year-long series of NTRA-sanctioned local tournaments conducted by racetracks, casino race books, off-track betting facilities and horse racing and handicapping websites, each of which sends its top qualifiers to the national finals. Each year, the NHC winner joins other human and equine champions as an honoree at the Eclipse Awards. The 14 NHC Champions since the event’s inception, in chronological order, are Steven Walker, Judy Wagner, Herman Miller, Steve Wolfson Jr., Kent Meyer, Jamie Michelson, Ron Rippey, Stanley Bavlish, Richard Goodall, John Conte, Brian Troop, John Doyle, Michael Beychok, Jim Benes and Jose Arias.